What is a workflow’s Connection?
Every time you connect two workflow-steps each other you have to set a connection that defines how they are linked.
When you set up a connection you have three possible states:
Successful or failed,
A connection acts like a fiter.
By selecting one those three statements you are telling Plainflow what users should proceed ahead in the workflow.
Eg. If you select the
Successful option after using the Clearbit integration only the users whose profiles have been successfully enriched will pass to the next workflow step.
You can take a premise as a
When a user matches the connection’s premise he will immediately pass to the next workflow step.
When a user doesn’t match the connection’s premise, he’ll be put on hold in that workflow-step until he will match the connection’s premise and he can proceed ahead in the workflow journey.
Let’s see with a real example.
In this sample workflow I am sending the first email after a given user signs up.
Now suppose that I want to send a second email only when the previous one gets opened and the user starts a Trial.
I will click in the connection between my first email and my second email and I will set up the
This is what the final workflow will look like.
Be careful when using a premise. You users will wait until it will be verified to proceed ahead in your journey. It’ powerful, but from great power comes great responsibility. 🔥
Edit a connection
You can edit a connection any time you want in your workflow by selecting the arch that connects two workflow-steps and by clicking the
show/edit premise button.
Not using Plainflow yet? Get your free account here. 👈